Flower friday {number fourteen}

Call off the search parties and take my face off the sides of those milk cartons everyone! I am back and I promise, promise, promise I am going to start keeping up with the blog again. And you definitely can’t break a triple promise, right?

I am back in Monterey Bay after a very short and very busy summer. I spent the last three months baking until I could barely see straight but I loved every second of it. Being back in Monterey means I get to spend my Friday mornings just how I want though: at the farmers market. There is a farmers market in my hometown but with three busy schedules between my mom, my sister, an myself, it was hard to keep up with my flower Friday posts.

I walked into the market this morning and was absolutely thrilled to see that dahlias are back in season and couldn’t resist spending a large portion of my budget on flowers, like always. But with a deal like 5 bunches for $20, I doubt anyone could have resisted. I spent an embarrassing amount of time sifting through the buckets and buckets of flowers and finally found my five bunches.

DSC02198

As opposed to my normal giant bunch of flowers, I decided to do a little something different. When I moved into my room this year I found a bunch of different vases I had collected last semester. I put the vases at the foot of my bed and looked at them sadly staring back at me just begging to be filled. I cut the rubber bands that were tied around all the bunches I had collected and mixed them all together. One by one I randomly grabbed stems, snipped them off an inch or two and threw them into the three different vases I had. When I was all out of flowers I went through and rearranged and snipped off a couple more inches from the stems that looked a little wonky and I loved the outcome.

DSC02202

DSC02205

DSC02208

DSC02212

 

I am not even close to having my room fully decorated, but these flowers sitting at the foot of my bed make my room a tad bit less dreary and will hopefully (fingers crossed) motivate me to get some of my canvases and frames hung on the wall this weekend. I hope you all have a safe holiday weekend and enjoy that extra day off on Monday!

XO, EE

4 thoughts on “Flower friday {number fourteen}

  1. Pingback: Flower Friday {number fifteen} | savory/sweet/style

Leave a comment